top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNageen Javaid

Quick Cook Quiche: Broccoli, Cheese, Walnut

Hello again!


This took a long time to update but I have my professional exams to study for and when else would be the best time to update a food blog which I started as a fun activity during Lockdown of 2020 than during revising for one of the most important exams of my life!


Without boring you readers too much with a rant about how my life has changed since the last blog post, I'll jump straight into the recipe of one of the best quiches ever!


'Quiche' - what a funny word! My love for quiches grew while working part-time at the cafe of American Museum & Gardens during my university life. I didn't even know what these are or how to pronounce the word 'quiche' but they really grew on me during my lunch breaks and taking the left-overs back with me to avoid cooking.


Little did I know I would soon be missing the freshly made quiches at the kitchen of American Museum so much that I would crave them so much. Then I came across the recipe of this simple and most indulgent quiche in a book I received as my 23rd birthday present by my loveliest friends. Rukmini Iyer's 'The Green Roasting Tin' has some of the best recipes for a vegetarian lifestyle.


No I am not a vegetarian but have always lacked creativity to come up with a non-Pakistani curry-styled vegetarian dish. So this book offers so many great options from a quick 30 minute toss-up of vegetables in a pan to a slow-cooked, mouth-watering platter.


This specific recipe blends in so many different flavours together with a crisp puff-pastry as base and the crunchy layer of walnuts that keeps you full with the pleasant feeling of having eaten healthier. Sure it has some of the 'fatty' ingredients like blue cheese but with smaller portions and salad on the side, it's perfect for meal preps!


I actually replaced the blue cheese with a less pungent cheese - just because I didn't want to have a whole block of blue cheese sitting in my refrigerator after only using some of it for the quiche and struggling to come up with something that would use it.


Enough talking from me, and here I present you the remarkable outcome of one of the best quiches (the list isn't long) I've made.


Okay the puff pastry realllly blew out of proportion on the corners but tasted immaculate! Another photo because I couldn't decide on one:


Ingredients:

Serves 4 (or 6 with smaller portions)

  • 320g ready-rolled puff pastry sheet

  • 300g broccoli florets, halved

  • ½red onion, finely chopped

  • 1 tsp chilli flakes

  • 125g cheese (the original recipe mentioned some sort of blue cheese which I replaces which the one I had at the time - mature cheddar)

  • 30g walnuts, chopped

  • 100ml single cream

  • 4 free-range eggs

  • 1 lemon, zest only

  • 1 tsp sea salt

  • 1 clove of garlic, crushed

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C fan/200°C/ gas 6 and line a small deep roasting tin with baking paper. Now cover the base of the tin with the puff pastry – you want it to come up the sides and hold all the filling in.

  2. Scatter the broccoli florets, red onion, chilli flakes, walnuts and cheese evenly over the pastry.

  3. Beat the cream, eggs, lemon zest, sea salt and garlic together, then pour over the broccoli and cheese. Transfer to the oven and bake for 30 minutes, after which the pastry should be cooked and the centre of the quiche just wobbly.

  4. Leave to sit in the tin for 10 minutes to cool down, then serve warm or at room temperature.

Note: You can use the baking paper that the pastry comes wrapped in to line the base of your roasting tin.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page