top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNageen Javaid

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Updated: Apr 30, 2020

Okay we all are in agreement that chocolate chip cookies are the BEST! But what if I tell you they can be improved? Even I hadn't known there's a way to make even better chocolate chip cookies than the ones I shared before.


If you know me, you would also know I work at the American Museum & Gardens in Bath. This job has been my second home since I came to university, starting as just a part-time job, I really made friends with all the people I worked with at the cafe and learnt the difference between latter, cappuccino and a flat white - more on that later! What I also learnt was about the different cookie flavours, hence I experimented some of my own today. The turnout was not too bad either.




First, I started with getting all the ingredients out - I love this part.



Note to be taken, I used 200g dark chocolate bar because that's what I had and then chop it finely. But you can simply use chocolate chips.


Also, look at how beautiful the mixture looks!! I was so tempted to eat it all raw. The only additional ingredient to this recipe compared to the other chocolate chip cookies was cocoa powder - it definitely does wonders!



The baked cookies were even better, and with the weather like today's, just what I needed!




Ingredients:

Makes 25 cookies


  • 1/2 cup butter, melted

  • 1/3 cup caster sugar

  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

  • 1 large egg

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • 1/4 cup dark cocoa powder

  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1 1/2 cups (200g) dark chocolate


Instructions:

  1. Place melted butter in the bowl with caster and brown sugars until the mixture is smooth. Mix in egg and vanilla extract until combined.

  2. Mix in cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt, then slowly mix in flour and mix just until the batter is smooth and comes together. Be sure to scrape the sides of the bowl during mixing.

  3. Then slowly mix in chocolate chips.

  4. Once it's all mixed well, cover with plastic wrap and let it chill for at least 1-2 hours.

  5. Preheat oven to 180°C.

  6. Remove the chilled cookie dough balls from the refrigerator and space them 2-inches apart on the cookie sheets. Bake (2 tablespoon sized cookies) for 11-15 minutes, or until the edges are a light golden and the tops are no longer glossy. Let cool on the cookie sheets at least 10 minutes before removing.

  7. For the gooey chocolate chip look, top the just baked cookies with a few chocolate chips!

EDIT: Initially the cookies had a cake-like texture but after a day or two of cooling down, they are so chewy and tasty, I am loving them! Definitely recommend trying it.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page