top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNageen Javaid

Chicken Fried Rice

I had been craving takeaway food so much lately and today I thought, why not try to replicate it? Well, I did not have the confidence to go for a full Chinese so started with baby-steps...And today's step involved starting with chicken fried rice. It was a little longer process than I had imagined but I enjoyed it nonetheless. Cooking really distracts me from the distress surrounding us all (that sounds so dark so I'll change the topic).


Anyway, the recipe I followed for the chicken fried rice was a combination of a few I found online and changing slightly to how I would prefer. As a result, I proudly announce the delight I felt with the first morsel of my creation, an absolute star.



Ingredients:

Serves 4


  • 1 cup chicken breasts, chopped in cubes

  • 2 cups of mixed vegetables, chopped (green pepper, carrots, green beans, peas, sweet corn, spring onions...go for what you please)

  • 2 eggs

  • 1 garlic cloves, minced

  • 2 cup boiled rice

  • 2 tablespoon vegetable oil

  • 2 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

  • 2 tablespoon light soy sauce

  • Salt and pepper as required


Instructions:


  1. Initially, boil the rice and leave them to cool down, chill for 1-2 hours so they become sticky.

  2. In a big pan, heat up the oil and fry the minced garlic for a few seconds.

  3. Now add the chicken cubes and let them cook until the chicken is no longer raw.

  4. Add in the chopped vegetables.

  5. On a separate frying pan, heat a little bit of oil. Beat the two eggs in a bowl and cook them in the frying pan, separating the scrambled eggs with a spatula into smaller chunks and place them aside. Make sure not to over cook the eggs at this stage.

  6. Once the vegetables are fried with the chicken, add in the scrambled eggs and give it a stir.

  7. Bring out the rice and gradually add in to the pan, mixing them well with the other ingredients.

  8. Add in the salt and pepper with balsamic vinegar and light soy sauce, giving it all a good stir.

  9. Let it simmer for 5 minutes.

  10. Dish out the rice and serve with your favourite side - or have it as it is.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page