top of page
Search
Writer's pictureNageen Javaid

Aloo Baingan

Updated: Apr 28, 2020

You know how everyone has a comfort food? Without a doubt mine would be this.


I love the name of this dish. If you're confused what this fancy word means, it's simply 'potato (aloo) aubergine (baigan)'. I always found traditional meals that my mom used to cook too time consuming to be making them as a busy student (LOL). But what better time to try those than now. So I tried this first time a few months ago and ABSOLUTELY loved it. I also realised it does not take that long at all. So you know when I realised I can make this by myself, for sure I tried it again, and again. After all, this is my comfort food.


Also, I realised today I didn't know the difference between paprika and red chilli powder (still don't)!


Aloo baingun goes so well with plain boiled rice, I can't wait to try it!


Ingredients:

Serves 4-5 people


  • 4 normal size potatoes, chopped in cubes

  • 1 aubergine, chopped in cubes

  • 1 onion

  • 1 tablespoon any cooking oil

  • 1 tablespoon garlic & ginger paste

  • For spices: mix of some cumin seeds, 1-2 cardamom pods, 1 clove, salt, pepper, turmeric, paprika and red chilli powder

  • 2 green chillies

  • Half a can of tomatoes

  • Fresh coriander for garnishing


Instructions:


  1. Fry the finely chopped onion in a large pan with 1 tablespoon of oil.

  2. Add in the garlic and ginger paste and let them cook together until the onion turns golden brown.

  3. Now put in the chopped potatoes and aubergine and let them all cook together.

  4. Add in the spices mentioned above: mix of some cumin seeds, 1-2 cardamom pods, 1 clove, salt, pepper, turmeric, paprika and red chilli powder. I use these very much depending upon how spicy I want the food to look. So go ahead and experiment for yourself with these.

  5. Turn the hob on low heat with a lid and let this all mix together well.

  6. Once you feel comfortable that potatoes are cooked all the way through, add in the chopped green chillies and the tomatoes.

  7. Mix them well for 5-10 minutes.

  8. Garnish with some coriander and serve it with love (and some rice)!

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page